levels randomly changing?

Forums Forums SQ Forums SQ troubleshooting levels randomly changing?

This topic contains 7 replies, has 4 voices, and was last updated by Profile photo of Mike C Mike C 3 years, 6 months ago.

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    Profile photo of Claribella
    Claribella
    Participant

Im new to all this in ear stuff and technology is not my forte so forgive me in advance:)

Our church have just started using this but on a regular basis I will set my levels and then they will change. Ive had times where Ive got up to sing and play after practice and I cant hear the drummer or keys. Sometimes it’ll change mid set and sometimes I have loads of something and I look on my screen and everything is on 0 so I cant even adjust the sound. I know that we’ve had issues with someone not being on the right channel so thats affected some else but is it possible that the sound desk adjustments could affect what we hear? Any help is really, really appreciated 🙂

Profile photo of Scott
    Scott
    Participant

Is your setup using aux mixes or MEs? If aux mixes, are they being remote controlled via iPad/phone apps or strictly from the SQ surface?

Profile photo of Mike C
    Mike C
    Participant

Also if your using aux mixes for monitors are they set to “pre fade”?
    There are other options as to where the signal gets picks off from with in the
    channel strip, pre / post EQ, pre / post comp, pre post / delay but to start
    with double check that the aux mix is set to pre fade.

If it is set to post fade any level changes made to the main mix will also change
    the levels in the aux monitor mix.

Something you can’t really control is if someone adjust the input channel gain
    that will change the level on everything associated with that channel, mains
    and monitors.
    Well you can control that but it would require splitting the channels, one for mains
    and one for monitors, we won’t go there now.

Claribella