How do I use Groups on the QU-24

Forums Forums Qu Forums Qu general discussions How do I use Groups on the QU-24

This topic contains 15 replies, has 10 voices, and was last updated by Profile photo of Mike C Mike C 4 years, 1 month ago.

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 16 total)
  • Author
    Profile photo of MD
    MD
    Participant

G’day all, I’m brand new to the digital mixer world, so please excuse my ignorance. Our local church just upgraded to the QU-24. We are loving the mixer especially the control you have through the iPad. I’ve been going through the manual and learning about the desk, so far so good. I’m having trouble with how to get the groups to work. All i want to do is set up a basic group for drums, singers and so on. On the old analogue desk I just panned L and R to get either group 1,2,3 or 4. For the life of me I can’t understand the manual in this regard. Can someone point out to me how do I setup the groups in this manner. Ta, MD

Profile photo of Wilts
    Wilts
    Participant

Faced with a similar decision, I used DCAs instead. I put key elements onto individual DCAs and adjust the volume of them via DCAs. To make it easier to get to them, I made a custom layer with the DCAs replaced some of the generally unused channels on my QU32.

Profile photo of MD
    MD
    Participant

Wilts, thanks for the reply. I’ll read up on DCA’s. Seems like a lot of mucking around to do something that’s so simple even on cheap old analogue mixers. Using the DCA’s, does that mean you don’t use the group mix buttons at all?
    Ta.

Profile photo of Dick Rees
    Dick Rees
    Participant

The manual is not the clearest on this, but here goes:

On the Qu-24 you have just two groups as such…but they are stereo groups. You can pan channels within the groups, but you will not have the same “four mono” control capability as you had in analog world.