How do I RTA and EQ to obtain flat response?

Forums Forums Qu Forums Qu general discussions How do I RTA and EQ to obtain flat response?

This topic contains 7 replies, has 5 voices, and was last updated by Profile photo of Billy Billy 9 years, 8 months ago.

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    Profile photo of Paul
    Paul
    Participant

I am a QU-16 newbie. I’ve got the basic mixer navigation down, and now I am ready to start tackling the more advanced stuff.

I am currently trying to set the EQ response flat using RTA and a RTA mic. So far I’ve managed to output a pink noise signal to the speakers, plug in a RTA mic into one of the channels, turn on the phantom power, and get it working. And then I got interrupted last night, so I will be taking it up again this evening after work. Last night once I got the mic plugged in I pointed it at the speakers, but when I went to look at the RTA signal it didn’t seem to display any output. What am I missing? Is there some routing issues I need to tweak? What are the steps? Thanks,

Paul

BTW, I love the board so far. I am getting pretty excited about putting it into production.

Profile photo of
    Anonymous

WOW
    What a very subjective can of worms you are opening up here.
    However GOOD on you for asking this question.
    I will watch with enthusiasm.
    I used to do this (tune the PA to a display) once upon a time by watching the graph
    until singer came up to me at a job and asked “please turn down the treble!”
    I thought what? sounds fine to me…
    Those were the days of self tutoring reading the Yamaha Sound Reinforcement Book.(The old black book that cost $140! One of the “sound Bible’s” from my era

I think the RTA is really handy for foldback!

Profile photo of Nicola A&H
    Nicola A&H
    Keymaster

Hi Paul,

The RTA follows PAFL selection. Make sure your measurement mic is PAFL’d and the gain structure right.