High School: Qu vs iLive

Forums Forums Qu Forums Qu general discussions High School: Qu vs iLive

Tagged: , ,

This topic contains 12 replies, has 9 voices, and was last updated by Profile photo of [XAP]Bob [XAP]Bob 9 years ago.

Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Author
    Profile photo of MacMusicGuy
    MacMusicGuy
    Participant

I work at a grades 6-12 school [US] which is trying to replace an ageing Mackie board. The performing space is VERY active, with everything from school meetings to full-on musical productions as well as many outside groups coming in.

I have some experience with an iLive board from about 3 years ago, and really liked the board once we got everything setup. However, the QU series looks INTERESTING. Sadly, there’s no way to get my hands on one to check it out directly.

I’m thinking that the Qu series, compared to iLive:
    • loses the ability to reconfigure the board based on the login
    • is less flexible in terms of system setup [i.e. the basic architecture is more fixed]
    • has fewer effects
    • and costs quite a few pennies less

Besides the obvious differences in the physical outputs/inputs, is that a decent summary? I’m assuming sound quality is similar, given it’s A&H and these are digital.

Opinions on what path to take? I’m currently thinking the Qu-32 plus the AR2412 audio rack, to be placed onstage.

Let the opinions fly!

Profile photo of GCumbee
    GCumbee
    Participant

You can’t go wrong either way. I just recently did a similar install at a large church multi-purpose room. QU-32/AR2412. They love it. With several operators it works well for them. This was right when 32 was coming out. We had to wait awhile. I loaned them my GLD-80 to get going. They feel the 32 is easier for them. Configurations are not a problem.