Help with groups for monitor mixes

Forums Forums SQ Forums SQ general discussions Help with groups for monitor mixes

This topic contains 12 replies, has 5 voices, and was last updated by Profile photo of MarkO MarkO 2 years, 4 months ago.

Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Author
    Profile photo of MarkO
    MarkO
    Participant

Hi all
    I am fairly new to my SQ6 and feel I must be missing something here.
    I manage the sound for my band. We play covers and use backing tracks for parts we don’t have. The tracks are fed into the desk from an Apple MacBook running Ableton via USB. I have 12 tracks channels including click and cues.
    I often need to adjust the level of the entire set of backing tracks in band members IEMs which is a real pain having to adjust 12 channel faders for their mix.
    I want a master volume fader for the tracks in each mix ideally. I thought groups would be the answer but it seems they are post fader so as I understand it, any change to the tracks levels for FOH will impact the levels in the monitor mixes. Not what I want.
    So I looked at DCAs but it seems you can’t have a DCA with monitor channels assigned to it. IE a different DCA for the tracks (12 channels) in each monitor mix.

Is there a solution to this please? What am I missing?
    Many thanks
    Mark

Profile photo of MarkPAman
    MarkPAman
    Participant

DCA would control level of a post fade mix. Each send from each channel can be pre or post individually, so that may be an option that works.

Otherwise, if the changes you need are consistent between gigs you could use scenes with filters blocking everything but the level changes you want.

Profile photo of Mike C
    Mike C
    Participant

Using audio groups any changes made at the group master will only change the level at FOH, the aux mixes either pre or post fade will not change.

Using a DCA group aux mixes that are post fade would change with the DCA master level
    changes.