Help with FX routing please

Forums Forums SQ Forums SQ general discussions Help with FX routing please

This topic contains 13 replies, has 4 voices, and was last updated by Profile photo of Mark Mark 3 years, 5 months ago.

Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
  • Author
    Profile photo of Mark
    Mark
    Participant

Hi,

I’ve been reading these forums for a number of months now and have learned a lot, but this is my first time posting a question…

We are using our SQ in church currently for pre-recording a band, multi-track out to Reaper, which has been going great, but I’m trying to work out how I want to set things up for when we eventually move to live streaming. I’m using the recording sessions as a way to test and refine my scenes and routing. I thought I had everything worked out for my latest set of options, but saw some unexpected behaviour (to me at least) during a test run last night using a multi-track from my laptop.

I’m attempting to route vocals to a group, drums (mainly cajon for now) to a second group, and the rest of the band to a third group. This allows additional processing if I need it. Those go through an aux so I can mix them and add more processing, and finally to a matrix which will be the stream output. I’m not sure at this stage if I need all these groups, but as we currently have them available I wanted to experiment with this arrangement. The vocals are also routed through an FX mix to add reverb, which is sent to both L/R and the stream aux. I’m choosing not to send the drums to Main L/R at all at the moment.
    I’ve done a simple block diagram showing how I have the routing configured – at least I believe this is what I have! It’s the first time I’ve tried anything this complex.