Group Outputs / Mix Outputs Signal Strength

Forums Forums Qu Forums Qu general discussions Group Outputs / Mix Outputs Signal Strength

This topic contains 15 replies, has 7 voices, and was last updated by Profile photo of [XAP]Bob [XAP]Bob 8 years, 3 months ago.

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 16 total)
  • Author
    Profile photo of shadow
    shadow
    Participant

Newbee question, first it should be known I am not a professional audio engineer.
    I am looking to use my QU-32 to record to an analog multitrack tape deck (Teac A3440).
    The Mixer is brand new and I am still learning my way around it. While experimenting
    with the outputs I have observed that the signal strength at the mix outputs is considerably
    lower than that of the group outs. I need to push the output faders on the mix outs to near max
    and I still have a weak signal, could it be a Pre/ Post fader setting or a limitation of the
    ports themselves. I am using all unbalanced equipment and patch cables. I am hoping it is in the
    mixer setup. As the QU does not have any local direct outputs only to USB, what would be the best
    ouputs to use to send the signal to the Tape Deck?

Profile photo of markie
    markie
    Participant

Group, Mix, Matrix outputs – Balanced XLR line
    level outputs for the mono and stereo mixes, for example to
    feed monitor amplifiers, external processing devices, delay
    fill speaker systems and recording devices. These use low
    impedance, high quality differential driver circuits for
    connection to +4 or 0dBu equipment. Maximum output is
    +22dBu.
    Professional equipment provides ‘balanced’ connections for
    maximum interference rejection over long cable runs. If you
    are connecting to ‘unbalanced’ equipment then make sure
    the XLR pin 3 (signal cold) is linked to pin 1 (signal ground)