"Groundloop" noise in brand new SQ7 analog outputs

Forums Forums SQ Forums SQ troubleshooting "Groundloop" noise in brand new SQ7 analog outputs

This topic contains 15 replies, has 5 voices, and was last updated by Profile photo of Neo Neo 4 years, 4 months ago.

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 16 total)
  • Author
    Profile photo of Neo
    Neo
    Participant

Good evening everyone.

I use my SQ7 as a 16 channel DA converter into a NEVE8816 summing mixer and then out to my monitor controller. Studio use only. Everything is connected via Dante in the digital domain. We recently upgraded all our power cables and I went about a recalibration of levels, gain structure, etc of the analog section of the signal chain. At first I thought I had found a massive ground loop as I had the typical static 50/60hz buzzing in the speakers when I turned the mixer input + monitor output gains right up (checking for noise in the system). I have been a studio tech for over 25 years and have built this particular installation around a dedicated technical earth, brand new electricity wiring, Mogami/van Damme/Klotz cabling only, etc so pretty sure there wasn’t a ground loop anywhere I couldn’t trace. Mains Power is provided via dedicated block and (very) expensive cables. Grounds are lifted where appropriate, perfect ‘star’ formation in terms of wiring.