Global 48v switch

Forums Forums Qu Forums Qu feature suggestions Global 48v switch

This topic contains 14 replies, has 8 voices, and was last updated by Profile photo of BillC BillC 9 years ago.

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 15 total)
  • Author
    Profile photo of BillC
    BillC
    Participant

Hello,

From the home page, have a global 48v on/off. I prefer to not plug/un-plug active devices with power applied. Stepping through and switching each channel with 48v on is cranky.

Profile photo of Andreas
    Andreas

To globally switch off phantom power after show you may use a Scene recall with filter set up allow only Preamp restore (also resets gain, of course)…

Profile photo of [XAP]Bob
    [XAP]Bob
    Participant

Either turn the channel off before replugging, or if you are mass replugging you could turn the desk off 😉

Profile photo of GCumbee
    GCumbee
    Participant

I have been working on all kinds of consoles for over 40 years. I don’t remember ever seeing one with a master 48vdc(except maybe on the remote power supply) and individual. It is either one or the other or groups of 4 or 8.

While the reason is understandable there are ways to work around it as mentioned.

Profile photo of MarkPAman
    MarkPAman
    Participant

Thing is, on a big old analogue desk, it only took a few seconds to (un)press all the physical phantom buttons in a row above the gain. With a digi desk it’s a longer process especially when you need to hold the phantom button for a second.

Personally, it’s a function I’d welcome. If it could be done separately for local & remote (AR) inputs, so much the better.

I think scenes still offer many more things than I consider them for at the moment Andreas. I’ll have a look at that idea.

Profile photo of Wil Riker
    Wil Riker
    Participant