GLD – USB Expansion Card

Forums Forums GLD Forums GLD feature suggestions GLD – USB Expansion Card

This topic contains 4 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by Profile photo of John-S John-S 10 years, 2 months ago.

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    Profile photo of dcongdon
    dcongdon
    Participant

Now that the QU-24 has USB multitrack capability, when will we see a cheap expansion card for the GLD series for basic virtual soundcheck? The Dante Card obviously provides more up/down stream horsepower, but for quick soundchecks a cheap USB card would be very helpful. Can this be done?

Profile photo of GCumbee
    GCumbee
    Participant

No offense if this is what you like or want to do but personally I think people are just getting too spoiled with technology. I know a case can be made but as a long time engineer I will be the one to say that the whole virtual sound check is somewhat of a waste of time. It does not account for direct stage volume so only gives a partial method to judge things. I think too much emphasis is being put on things like this and iPad mixing as well. Just stick to the basics. Stay at the console and get the band to do a check. Nothing will sound the same anyway. Too many variables. There are a lot of things we could use more.

Ok. Rant over. No personal offense again

Profile photo of dcongdon
    dcongdon
    Participant

None taken. I asked for thoughts from the forum. I think we agree that having virtual soundcheck is only a tool… not a replacement for engineering fundamentals. I’m simply requesting a feature found on A&H’s QU mixers to be brought up to the larger GLD in the form of an expansion card. When our industry is in an arms-race for features…this expansion card seems like a reasonable request. It doesn’t change the exceptional quality of the GLD series. It does improve its marketability.