Gain

This topic contains 16 replies, has 8 voices, and was last updated by Profile photo of Hugh Hugh 3 years, 1 month ago.

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 17 total)
  • Author
    Profile photo of michaelc
    michaelc
    Participant

Hey everyone;

I am new to the digital world my church about a month ago switched to the sq6 and I am having some issues. All my mics seem really hit and everyone is complaining but pa being ti loud. Been watching alot of videos trying to understand how to set the gain properly but there are so many different ways. When our mixer was installed the mains were set by the installer and he used pink noise get get the mains set. With a lavalier ic for our pastor when you push the fader up very loud maybe gain at 10 or 12 with mains at unity. Have only being doing sound about 8 months and the guy was training me has left the church. Thanks for any help

Profile photo of SteffenR
    SteffenR
    Participant

turning down the volume should be no issue…

Profile photo of volounteer
    volounteer
    Participant

@michaelc

this has nothing to do with digital.

take the knob on the amplifier and rotate it left if the PA is too loud.
    have you actually measured the loudness with an SPL meter?

there is only one way to set up the maximum safe gain properly.
    although there are a number of approaches/tools/techniques to achieving that one way.
    they should all be close enough for govt work.

how much of that available gain you use to create loudness is up to you and your ears.
    maybe also the laws in some countries to protect our hearing from deaf A1s and garage band noobies.

question: why do you raise the fader up at all if that makes things too loud?????

if your issue is just the pastor then lower the fader on his channel.

if your issue is the total mix can you lower the gain in the screen driving LR out?
    if not then you would need to lower the fader on the LR main out.

most of us would kill to have your problem.