dLive Dante recording noise

Forums Forums dLive Forums dLive troubleshooting dLive Dante recording noise

Tagged: 

This topic contains 22 replies, has 11 voices, and was last updated by Profile photo of KanarieVink KanarieVink 2 years, 1 month ago.

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 23 total)
  • Author
    Profile photo of honourhim
    honourhim
    Participant

Hey all,

I’m new to the dLive system (currently renting) and got the virtual soundcheck going. Only thing, there is noise in the recording, similar to when a vinyl record starts playing, that crackly type noise

I’ve tried 3 different laptops, Mac and windows and as far as I’m aware, there’s nothing much with settings that I could do. Like the DVS latency is 10ms, changing it didn’t do much

Any ideas?

Thanks in advance

Profile photo of Nicola A&H
    Nicola A&H
    Keymaster

Make sure you clock settings are correct.
    Assuming Dante is only used for recording, recommended settings are:
    – dLive clock set to Internal
    – Dante card set to ‘Preferred Master’ and ‘Enable Sync to Ext’ in Dante Controller

Definitely definitely a clock issue. I just got burned by forgetting to check the “Enable Sync to Ext” button in a new setup, which is a total 101 move. In our case, it was only inserts on the dante return path to console that were affected by sync drift, resulting in the telltale pops every couple of minutes. Drove me nuts for *days,* until I realized what was going on.

Profile photo of honourhim
    honourhim
    Participant

Thank you for that. Where would the preferred master be in dlive? Or is that in Dante controller?

Thanks you!

Profile photo of SteffenR
    SteffenR
    Participant

Dante clock and dLive clock are different, in dante controller you can set the clock master for the Dante network only
    set Dante clock master to the M-Dante Card and sync the card to the dLive, that should help

Profile photo of Netracer24
    Netracer24
    Participant