Dante virtual sound card vs USB lattency

Forums Forums SQ Forums SQ general discussions Dante virtual sound card vs USB lattency

This topic contains 5 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by Profile photo of Brian Brian 2 years, 8 months ago.

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    Profile photo of Nemydom
    Nemydom
    Participant

Hi A&H, I need your advice. If I buy a dante card to use it with my pc over Dante virtual sound card, will I get any benefits over using USB connection?
    If there is latency improvement, could you please provide the numbers as well as some comments, as I am not that experienced to understand the numbers only.
    Any other benefits to use this connection over USB? I am intrested in everything: recording, playback, using plugins on pc, and doing all these three at the same time. …and how else One could use SQ DANTe card plus the virtual sound card combo? Some examples would be nice.
    Thanks

Profile photo of KeithJ A&H
    KeithJ A&H

@nemydom

It’s not possible to provide a single figure for latency due to it being highly dependent on your specific setup (e.g. computer and host/processing you might be running signal through) and settings (e.g. buffer sizes).
    Relatively though, the latency you would experience with a Dante card and Dante Virtual Soundcard (DVS) would be similar to that which you’d get using the built-in USB-B interface.
    This is because although the Dante card/network can run at very low latency, DVS adds quite a bit.
    Hence why users like Dylan Mitrovich ( https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lEq_B5Vhw4I and https://www.facebook.com/AllenHeathofficial/videos/486799352333242 ) are using Dante PCIe cards which will allow for a far lower latency than running DVS with your computer’s network card.

The main benefits of using Dante compared to USB-B (without a low latency Dante interface to your computer) are:

• Connection to other Dante enabled equipment