Controlling Mix Output levels for Monitors

Forums Forums Qu Forums Qu general discussions Controlling Mix Output levels for Monitors

This topic contains 13 replies, has 4 voices, and was last updated by Profile photo of JW JW 4 years, 4 months ago.

Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
  • Author
    Profile photo of JW
    JW
    Participant

I was asked to run sound for my kids play and they have a QU-24. The mains are connected to the LR Main Out and the levels are controlled by the Ch 23 & 24 faders. The monitors are connected to Mix Outputs 7&8 and I can’t figure out how to get sound out of those. How do I control the output levels to the monitors connected to Mix Outputs 7&8? Sorry for the newbie question but this is my first time running sound. The monitors are powered and I checked to make sure they’re powered on and cables connected.

Profile photo of Bear
    Bear
    Participant

On the right side of the board press 7&8 mix button , your faders are now in mix 7&8 layer , move master and channel faders up to desired level . Hope that helps .

Profile photo of Mike C
    Mike C
    Participant

As Bear said that will get to the mix 7&8 layer but I am wondering about your mention of channels 23 & 24 controlling the output levels.

Are they controlling the actual overall main mix level or are they just the channels that
    you need to be adjusting for this play.

If the board is operating in the custom layer mode then channels 23 & 24 could be anything.

Walking in cold to operate any sound system let alone a digital mixer with out knowing
    how the system is actually configured can be kind of a real fast and big learning curve!

I’m assume this is a school so knowing who all has had their hands in the system is a big unknown.

Profile photo of Bear
    Bear
    Participant

Mike C great point.

Profile photo of JW
    JW
    Participant

This is a big unknown. The ones that brought this board in are long gone and no knowledge was passed on.