Connecting to Audacity on my laptop to produce demos

Forums Forums Qu Forums Qu general discussions Connecting to Audacity on my laptop to produce demos

This topic contains 3 replies, has 4 voices, and was last updated by Profile photo of Mike C Mike C 3 years, 1 month ago.

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    Profile photo of Caddyman
    Caddyman
    Participant

I have recently change from a ZED 60-10fx to a Qu16. I want to produce demo MP3s using Audacity on my Laptop (Windows 10). I have loaded the recommended software and can hear audio using Audacity. However I am not able to add my vocals to my backing tracks the way I did with the ZED60. As I Am a newbie to digital the steps to solve my problem need to be simple. This is the only aspect of the change I can not solve, I am delighted with what the Qu16 can do for me. I hope one of you can help. These are the steps done so far: 1) USB B cable connecting Qu16 and laptop. 2) Software downloaded. 3) Audacity setting set. 4) Backing track imported to Audacity plays through speakers (LR). I hope the steps already taken help.

Profile photo of Victor Kennedy
    Victor Kennedy
    Participant

I’ve never used Audacity for multi-tracking, but in any DAW you just need to select the Input Channel on your recording track in the DAW software to match the Output you are using on the Q16…ie: the one with the Mic plugged to it.

If you have a Mic in Chanel 1 of the Q16, go to the Track/Channel within Audacity for where you want to record the vocal. Arm the track for Record Read, make sure you have a level…off you go. Record the vocal…

Profile photo of volounteer
    volounteer
    Participant

@caddyman

I use audacity at times but not like this.
    Really think you might do better on the audacity forum if the issue is not Qu16.
    AFAIK audacity cannot playback and record at the same time; at least not on the old XP version I had used.