Connecting Qu-24 to Aviom

Forums Forums Qu Forums Qu general discussions Connecting Qu-24 to Aviom

This topic contains 12 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by Profile photo of Mike C Mike C 6 years ago.

Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Author
    Profile photo of brendanprout
    brendanprout
    Participant

Forgive me if this topic has been discussed elsewhere. I couldn’t find an advanced thread search feature on this forum, or a way to search the Qu forum specifically for Aviom related topics.

I’m a worship pastor at a small church. We have a Qu-24 board and I was just given an Aviom system. The current configuration of the system is using the standard XLR inputs from an analog snake into the board. The Aviom setup donated to us has nothing but 1/4″ TRS inputs going into it. Without tracking down the obsolete AN-16/i-M Mic Input Module, is there a way to use an Aviom setup with the Qu-24? Can I use the QU-24’s parallel 1/4″ inputs as pass throughs to the Aviom, since I’m using the XLRs as source inputs?

Profile photo of Mike C
    Mike C
    Participant

I am going to say no even though the block diagram kind of looks like the the XLR and the 1/4 are parrelled together but it also show resisters in line for the 1/4 jacks for signal padding.
    The Aviom input unit you have wants to see line level input signal, so even if there was output on the 1/4 inch input jack parrelled from the XLR it would be too low in signal level.

You could take the mix outs and feed them into the Aviom unit, on the stereo mix outs you could pan some channels on a stereo mix to the right and others to the left and get two discrete outputs per stereo mix to feed into the Aviom.
    You would most likely need to sub mix a couple of the mixes your sending to the Aviom.
    Don’t forget you can switch your groups to mixes and gain a couple more mix outs.

brendanprout
    Participant