Connect external recorder to qu-32

Forums Forums Qu Forums Qu troubleshooting Connect external recorder to qu-32

This topic contains 13 replies, has 6 voices, and was last updated by Profile photo of best100 best100 7 years, 8 months ago.

Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
  • Author
    Profile photo of best100
    best100
    Participant

I have a TASCAM DR-40 handheld recorder and I am new to this. Can someone please help me in connecting all the channels from the mixer to the TASCAM for recording. I know the qu-32 has USB recording but I am looking to record it with the TASCAM.

The TASCAM has two L and R EXT MIC/LINE IN

Here is a picture: https://cdn.studiodaily.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/11/2200_dr40-bottom.jpg

I tried using 2 XLR cables and plugged into the mic outputs 6 and 7 but that didn’t work.

Profile photo of [XAP]Bob
    [XAP]Bob
    Participant

Mic outputs or mix outputs?

What are you trying to record? A dedicated mix or the LR mix?

If LR then I’d suggest TRS jacks from alt out to the Tuscan, and then route LR to AltOut on the console routing. You get an extra trim level on the physical pot on the desk, and record the LR signal as you go.

Profile photo of best100
    best100
    Participant

Oh yeah I connected to mix outouts. I am trying to record the main channel, is that called LR mix?

The mixer is owned by a non profit and I am not allowed to change settings.

Is there a to do it without changing any settings and using XLR?

I was to try the 2 TRS out next but I’ll need the get those cables first that’s why I preferred XLR.

[XAP]Bob
    Participant

The easiest way is to use the stereo QuDrive recording feature.

What you need to do is set the LR mix (i.e. the main output) to be sent to two different outputs (I’d suggest the Alt-Out and Mains) and then use the ALt-Out for the Tascam
    Section 11.14 in the manual https://www.allen-heath.com/media/Qu-Mixer-Reference-Guide-AP9372_9.pdf