Completely baffled by QU-16 insert routing.

Forums Forums Qu Forums Qu general discussions Completely baffled by QU-16 insert routing.

This topic contains 5 replies, has 4 voices, and was last updated by Profile photo of DTB DTB 8 years, 5 months ago.

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    Profile photo of DTB
    DTB
    Participant

To begin with I am a complete beginner at the digital mixer world, as I have been using a mix wizard WZ3 (and WZ4) 16:2 for a good number of years. And before that I believe it was a GL2. I am 62 years old and I purchased the mixer after watching all of the videos I could find online, on you tube, and the A&H website. Everything that I watched said it would be an easy transition from a mix wiz etc. to the QU-16. Well for me it has been anything but easy, and sort of like learning to use a computer for the first time. I have read and re-read as much as I can, and I have actually figured out a few of the basics to get me started. So I figured out how to set up a regular L/R output with faders, and routing though ST1 for my outboard CD. So I go to try to use the insert feature and assign a reverb I have chosen to a few channels. I can get it to work on one channel at a time, but then I try to do the same thing with other channels, and the insert light does not come on. I am assuming that input 1 correlates to channel one on the mixer,but I am not sure. I just can not believe that something that should be so simple is giving me such a hard time. At this rate my poor bandmates will be pulling there hair out along with me.

DTB

Profile photo of cornelius78
    cornelius78
    Participant

You can’t assign the same FX processor as an insert across multiple channels simultaneously. You can assign channels to a mix then insert the FX across then mix, then route the mix back to LR, or you can run the fx in a send-return configuration.

Profile photo of [XAP]Bob
    [XAP]Bob
    Participant