Can't mute channel in a mix

Forums Forums GLD Forums GLD troubleshooting Can't mute channel in a mix

This topic contains 29 replies, has 6 voices, and was last updated by Profile photo of Ryan Ryan 3 years, 10 months ago.

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 30 total)
  • Author
    Profile photo of Ryan
    Ryan
    Participant

Novice here so please excuse my ignorance. I noticed that we weren’t using the Mono channel (LR+M) on our GLD 112 so I made a change to (LR) so that we could have an extra StAux channel to run for streaming. Now I notice that if I mute an input channel in the monitor mix (Aux) that it mutes the entire channel (including other mixes and FOH). It’s as if the mute button is now a global mute. Fortunately, the fader still works to adjust volume in the mix. Now, even if I go back to (LR+M) I have the same problem.

What am I missing? I’m sure it’s a simple fix, but one that alludes me. Any help would be much appreciated.

Profile photo of Scott
    Scott
    Participant

The mute button mutes the entire channel, and effects all destinations.

Profile photo of Scott
    Scott
    Participant
    Profile photo of Ryan
    Ryan
    Participant

I do understand that; I think maybe I’ve failed in my description of the problem. If I hit the Mix button on one of my monitor mixes then the input faders would all change to the values assigned to that mix. Here is where I normally could hit the mute button on one of those inputs and it would ONLY mute that input to that monitor; whereas now, it is muting the input not solely in that mix, but everywhere.

Profile photo of volounteer
    volounteer
    Participant

@ryan

Then why not just lower that channels fader in the mix ?
    that should not change the level in the other outputs that channel goes to.

Profile photo of Ryan
    Ryan
    Participant