Can QU24 be set for no password? and other questions

Forums Forums Qu Forums Qu general discussions Can QU24 be set for no password? and other questions

This topic contains 19 replies, has 7 voices, and was last updated by Profile photo of Hawaiian Drummer Hawaiian Drummer 2 months, 2 weeks ago.

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 20 total)
  • Author
    Profile photo of guyburns
    guyburns
    Participant

The Qu24 in our local theatre seems to be unloved. The fellow in charge of the room wasn’t sure who owned it, and said that I would know more about how to operate it than he did (and I’m new to pro mixers). Other users seem to bring their own mixers in. There were two larger mixers present when I was there (I’d booked the theatre for a rehearsal) – and one of them was connected to the house speakers. Took me a while to find that out, and reconnect it to the Qu24.

The Qu24 is probably permanently turned on and in Admin mode. At the start, I saved the machine settings as a Show, turned the mixer off to see how it starts up, and was denied access when it booted. So I Hard Reset, and entered a new password with a hand written notice to all future users.

In this situation, an unloved Qu 24, it seems to me best NOT to have a password.

Ques 1
    Can I set up a Qu24 so that it does not require a password?

Ques 2
    Is it okay to delete a Show folder on USB? I saved several Shows while experimenting, but the mixer seems NOT allow me to delete Shows. The only way to do so appears to be via a computer. Yet the manual says:

“Do not rename or edit the Show folder or its files.”

Ques 3
    I tried to get a mic working from the stage, about 20m from the mixer. The mic worked when directly plugged into the mixer. Last year when I hired the theatre, a tech (now gone) set everything up, and I noted that the mic was plugged into an XLR socket under the stage in the pit. This time when I tried to plug in, I couldn’t. The socket was a male XLR. I was expecting female.