Can a laptop be connected directly to SQ5 to use plugin such as Waves

Forums Forums SQ Forums SQ general discussions Can a laptop be connected directly to SQ5 to use plugin such as Waves

This topic contains 14 replies, has 7 voices, and was last updated by Profile photo of Sebastien Sebastien 5 years, 1 month ago.

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 15 total)
  • Author
    Profile photo of KenM
    KenM
    Participant

Hi, I am new to digital mixing and would love to use Waves or other brand plugins for live mixing. Is there a direct (and cheap) pathway to get my laptop working as an FX rack? I see the expensive Waves card and Soundgrid server option.

Thanks for any guidance.

Profile photo of SteffenR
    SteffenR
    Participant

yes it is possible, but not with low latency, that’s why the cards exists…

Profile photo of KenM
    KenM
    Participant

Steffen, Using a card can it then be connected direct or does it still need the Soundgrid server, or is that just something specific to Waves plugins?

Profile photo of J3phMP
    J3phMP
    Participant

In the research I’ve done, i’m trying to do the same thing, to accomplish this for live sound without the use of a DAW, you would need a Waves card and the Waves Multirack app. You would achieve the least amount of latency if your computer was purely dedicated to that purpose. I’m definitely open to other suggestions or ideas also.

Profile photo of Art
    Art
    Participant

You need a Soundgrid server to run Waves plugin in low latency. You can do it without the server, but your latency will go up.

You don’t need it only to record to a DAW, though.

Profile photo of J3phMP
    J3phMP
    Participant

Not sold on the server if your computer is dedicated only to sound. I think your latency will go up if you are running other processes. The impact server is an i3 with 4gb ram. I would be running i7 with 16gb. Can’t see a huge difference, without having to pay another $500.

Profile photo of jmole
    jmole