Best way of laying out the mixer surface for gig?

Forums Forums SQ Forums SQ general discussions Best way of laying out the mixer surface for gig?

This topic contains 18 replies, has 7 voices, and was last updated by Profile photo of lightingman117 lightingman117 3 years, 4 months ago.

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 19 total)
  • Author
    Profile photo of WaihekeSoundie
    WaihekeSoundie
    Participant

Am wondering if you can advise..

I’m new to my SQ5– OMG love it..sounds amazing and I really like the features and workflow

The surface arrangement feature is soo cool..
    But how do people like to set up their desks?

Mostly my bands are pretty small– 5 piece / 16 channels or so but I also do a 13 piece / 28 channel latin scar band.. (and will now link from my QU over slink for this band..)

Looking for tips as to how people think about their surface layouts..

I am tempted to put
    -Vocals Group Fader plus Vocals in the group on Layer A plus all the other main instruments on Layer A – (plus maybe Kick on Layer A)
    -Drums Grp fade and drum inputs plus Bass on Layer B?

I like the idea of having the group fader with the elements of the group “under” (i.e to right of) that fader like I would in a DAW so the group level and processing is easy to hand but is this not a good idea in practice?

What do you do? Are there some established best practices?

Thank you

Profile photo of
    Anonymous

Does Allen & Heath have a start-up standard template or show/scene?
    I thought I had seen that somewhere?

Profile photo of Mike C
    Mike C
    Participant

The non answer answer would be try a few different layouts and see what
    works for you work flow best. You have an SQ, six layers and any fader can be
    anything!!
    Maybe set up a practice gig with one of your bands where you have the time to experiment/play.

For your vocal groups if your using audio groups and not DCA groups think about