Basic 5 piece band setup and mix scene for beginner

Forums Forums SQ Forums SQ general discussions Basic 5 piece band setup and mix scene for beginner

This topic contains 4 replies, has 4 voices, and was last updated by Profile photo of Brian Brian 2 years, 2 months ago.

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    Profile photo of ToddN
    ToddN
    Participant

Does any one have a basic 4 members band setup with 5 piece DW drum kits, keyboard, bass and guitar, and a couple vocal setup and mixed save to a scene that can shared it with me. I just bought a SQ5 for our church youth group band but I can never get a good mix for them. I am a beginner with sound. I know enough to do the gained control, input routing.. but I am having problem with mixing the drum and vocal. If someone be so kind and willing to help me, I can send or upload the save scene and the multi track recording that I have. this would be a big help. Thank you very much in advance.

Profile photo of Heirloom AVM
    Heirloom AVM
    Participant

Hi Todd,

A scene is not what you need because your I/O and room is not going to be the same as mine. The SQ5 is an excellent board, but the board will not make you a better sound engineer.

To best understand the board, this playlist is worth viewing: https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLq3_zC_Xz0Pg94Yu1qioOEEJw2pxhdHP8

The first question is did you ring out (EQ) the room? Ultimately trust your ears, but there are tools in the mixer that can help if you understand how to use them:

RTA: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-5jN-PBhHPo

PAFL: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k_Y9K1BMllQ

You can use the signal built in signal generator and an RTA mic to help pinpoint problem frequencies. Instead of using your eyes, playback music that you are familiar with as a reference and equalize it to where it sounds best in the room. Only cut out problem frequencies using the GEQ on the Main L/R, do not boost.