AUX mix – no effect

Forums Forums SQ Forums SQ general discussions AUX mix – no effect

This topic contains 7 replies, has 5 voices, and was last updated by Profile photo of Brian Brian 1 year, 6 months ago.

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    Profile photo of BGO
    BGO
    Participant

Hi all,
    I’m new to SQ and need some help (with routing?). I’m trying to create independent mixes for LR and AUX1 for monitor.
    When I’m only working with the LR everything works fine. There is a vocal mic input, FX Sends, FX Returns. If I’m taking the mic fader down – no sound (no mic and no effect) which is fine.
    When I’m doing the same with the AUX1 for the monitor mix (mic input, FX Sends, FX Returns) there is no effect in the monitor…until I’m going to the LR mix and raising up the mic fader, so I can only hear the effect in the monitor if the mic volume on the LR mix is up. What if I don’t want to send the mic signal to the LR but only work with the monitor mix and have the effect on the vocal? Also, when the LR mic volume is up and there is an effect in the monitor – when I’m taking the AUX1 mic fader down I can still hear the effect in the monitor (it doesn’t go down with the mic volume like in the LR mix).
    Could you please help me to figure it out?

Profile photo of KeithJ A&H
    KeithJ A&H

@BGO

This is all related to pre and post fade sends as well as how the FX sends/returns work.

There are 8 FX engines and 4 dedicated FX send mixes in the SQ. When being used in ‘Mix->Return’ mode, you send signals to a mix (e.g. FX 1), here they are summed and used as the input for the FX unit. The output from the FX unit is then ‘returned’ to the associated FX return channel which can then be sent back out to any mix.