Audio rack for church modernization: Qu- 16 vs Pac?

Forums Forums Qu Forums Qu general discussions Audio rack for church modernization: Qu- 16 vs Pac?

Tagged: 

This topic contains 10 replies, has 5 voices, and was last updated by Profile photo of Mike C Mike C 3 years, 2 months ago.

Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    Profile photo of wdennis
    wdennis
    Participant

Hi all,

Involved in redoing the audio rack for a church; I’m the general IT & A/V head [volunteer], and learning as I go 🙂 (Professionally, I’m a IT Systems/Network Administrator for many decades now, so learning new tech is part of my life… not deep in A/V up til recently, but have been in bands and not completely new to live sound mixing.)

Anyhow, we currently have a 24RU rack with 17″ internal usable depth, that we want to reuse. The mixer/amps are old tech, and are out of inputs; we now want to expand the system and do some adds & changes ourselves (previously no tech volunteers were available, so staff relied on commercial VAR to do add/moves/changes.) So, having gotten the go-ahead on a redo, we’ve engaged a good local A/V VAR, who has spec’d an “ALLEN & HEATH Pro 16-Channel Digital Soundboard w/Rack Mount” along with a suitable Crown power amp.

Looking into what model this could be, I’m guessing we’re probably looking at a Qu-16 mixer, or possibly a Qu-Pac. Having experience planning racks before (network equipment, not audio tho) I started making a plan on how each of these units could fit into the existing rack, around the equipment we are not going to replace (and don’t really want to move.) These are attached as pics ending _1 (Qu-16) and _2 (Qu-Pac).