Adjusting settings on the MultiTrack record – How to

Forums Forums Qu Forums Qu general discussions Adjusting settings on the MultiTrack record – How to

This topic contains 4 replies, has 4 voices, and was last updated by Profile photo of [XAP]Bob [XAP]Bob 8 years, 10 months ago.

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    Profile photo of Frank
    Frank
    Participant

Hi,

Wondering if anyone can help me. I am new to the QU-24 board. Here is my question.

I am using the QU-Drive to record some services at our church. We have a system where we only have the drums mixed in at a much lower volume than the rest of the other instruments for the live sound. When I record using the Stereo or Multitrack, you can barely hear any drums. My question is: Is there a way to adjust the settings (volume, PEQ) on the multitrack without affecting the settings on the live sound? If so, how? Thanks!

Profile photo of debzdoodle
    debzdoodle
    Participant

You may have the gains too low. Due to the acoustic sound of the drums, you are perhaps keeping the gain levels low through the PA and not noticing it. Turn the gains up to where they should be so the metering is up to around zero and then turn the channel faders down to adjust to taste through the PA. That way the recording level will be higher on the drum channel tracks.

Profile photo of Frank
    Frank
    Participant

Thanks! We normally adjust all of our instruments for unity gain but maybe I need to doublecheck them while the band is playing.

Profile photo of dpdan
    dpdan
    Participant

I would suggest using one of the stereo mix outputs for the recording,… set all the inputs for that mix to “POST” fader.