Understanding PAFL

Forums Forums GLD Forums Archived GLD Discussions Understanding PAFL

This topic contains 13 replies, has 2 voices, and was last updated by Profile photo of GCumbee GCumbee 10 years, 6 months ago.

Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
  • Author
    Profile photo of GCumbee
    GCumbee
    Participant

I am still new to GLD. Pretty much figured out except the PAFL bus. I can install a PAFL IEM from the monitor store onto a strip. It gets the Main feed and PFL so can use that in lieu of a control room output for say broadcast use. I do think there should be a routing of post headphone control to a set of sockets for that.

But anyway, when you select the MIX button on the IEM, all IP’s show IEM and you can turn them ON/OFF like other assigns but nothing happens anywhere that I can hear or see. Nothing. Same with WEDGE. So what are these functions showing up on IP’s supposed to be doing? I think I have found a couple of other things like that. Item shows up but can’t find what the function actually does. Thanks for any help…

GLD 80
    AR24/12

Profile photo of Chris93
    Chris93
    Participant
    Profile photo of GCumbee
    GCumbee
    Participant

What part of that addresses my question Chris? I don’t see anything regarding the ON buttons when IEM is set to Mix. Not sure what I am missing on this…

GLD 80
    AR24/12

Profile photo of Chris93
    Chris93
    Participant

The 5th post.

The “ON”s when you press MIX on IEM and Wedge are showing you whether or not inputs or mixes are assigned to either IEM or Wedge.

The only thing I use it for is to route IEM to the headphone socket so that I have a headphone mute button. [8D]

The intended use of this is for monitor engineers mixing both ears and wedges having a cue wedge and their own set of ears. They want their cue wedge to mute when they’re listening to an in ear mix and their in ears to mute when they’re listening to a wedge mix.