Mixpad 1.91 unusable for mixing

Forums Forums iLive Forums Archived iLive Discussions Mixpad 1.91 unusable for mixing

This topic contains 15 replies, has 7 voices, and was last updated by Profile photo of kentlowt kentlowt 10 years, 11 months ago.

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 16 total)
  • Author
    Profile photo of pngaudioguy
    pngaudioguy
    Participant

Just got back from my first gig using the mixpad app to run FOH for a big band.
    Summary: Unusable.
    Background: I’ve been doing live sound as my full time career for 12 years, and mixing FOH with Lemur on my iPad via wifi through a Win7 virtualbox on Debian hosting their daemon through an external MIDI device controlling an 01V96 for the last few years with 0 dropouts, 0 lag, and 0 worries. I expected a $100 app to be an upgrade over my home-grown template.

I realize this is not A&H tech support, and I also realize that A&H guys occasionally poke their heads in to answer questions or whatever. I don’t expect to get a resolution, and I also expect some folks telling me I should take it up with A&H. I also don’t want someone to purchase an iDR rack, like I did, thinking that it’ll upgrade their workflow for iPad only based mixing.

Let me explain, no there’s not time – let me sum up:
    1. The scroll animation is really annoying. You have to wait for it to finish settling in on where the faders are going to be before it even starts updating levels, much less you can adjust anything.
    2. LAG!!!!!! – Holy cow. It takes forever for the faders to update to the rack!
    3. Dropouts! We played 2, 40 minute sets with a brief intermission this evening. I lost connection 5 times, and ended up sitting in the second row because it was the only place that was stable – the whole point of mixing on an iPad is flexibility to walk the venue and be where the VIP or prime sponsor is to guarantee optimum mix at that location.