LR&M or LR and sum to mono

Forums Forums GLD Forums Archived GLD Discussions LR&M or LR and sum to mono

This topic contains 11 replies, has 8 voices, and was last updated by Profile photo of Chris93 Chris93 11 years, 2 months ago.

Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author
    Profile photo of caseymglass
    caseymglass
    Participant

So I am a church tech and we are upgrading to the GLD. We run a mono PA but will also have a stereo recording feed. I’m wondering if it would be better to run the LR+M template (knowing that I won’t use the LR bus) for its dedicated mono bus or save myself a bus by going with the LR template and summing to mono outside the box at our system processing. I don’t think the LR bus in the LRM setup will help since I will want independant level control for the recording mix. Any thoughts?

Profile photo of Sound Doctor
    Sound Doctor
    Participant

Casey
    You could use the stereo template as a start and change the main out to mono. Go to Setup, Config, Mixer config tab, touch LR on Main and list of options comes up, then select LR+M –
    “A 3-way main mix with independent stereo LR and mono M buses. Channels can be separately assigned to any combination of LR and M. Typical application for M is main centre speaker, mono PA or bus-fed sub bass.”
    Are you recording to the usb? Not sure if it has a separate volume control.
    Have fun! I got my GLD about a month ago, having a blast so far.
    Rick

caseymglass
    Participant

I can certainly do that. I really just wish there was a mono only option. It hurts to have to burn up two mix buses I probably won’t use. I’ll have to see when I get the console in how independent the LR and M buses can be.

Profile photo of smorgan223
    smorgan223
    Participant