Master clip

This topic contains 10 replies, has 8 voices, and was last updated by Profile photo of Tuejo Tuejo 12 years, 8 months ago.

Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    Profile photo of Vardges-Sayadyan
    Vardges-Sayadyan
    Participant

Hi
    Dear A&H engineers can you explain me why I have a clip on my output Master,when input channels driven without cliping???

Profile photo of SteffenR
    SteffenR
    Participant

Because you doing something wrong????

SRV-AVB
    R-72, iDR-16, xDR-16

Profile photo of Doug
    Doug
    Participant

Against each bank select button there is a red peak light, when your clipping the output check these and see where the clipping is occuring.

http://www.maltingsaudio.co.uk

Profile photo of Mr-B
    Mr-B
    Participant

Could it just be you are adding 20 (or whatever number) of channels together on the bus and overloading it, just the same that happens in analogue? Try pulling all the inputs down by 3dB and see if it goes away.

Profile photo of Biggsounds
    Biggsounds
    Participant

Or check to see if you have used excessive make up gain on your bus compression somewhere along the chain…

iDR32 mixrack
    MixRack for iPad & Tweak for iPhone apps
    Asus N61 Laptop (x2 wireless)
    Windows 7 Pro 64bit
    with Belkin PlayMax N600 HD router
    Sennheiser IEM (for PFL)
    Dante card

Profile photo of Tuejo
    Tuejo
    Participant

I get it too sometimes. Mostly on the ears for my drummer where the kick is up 6 db with a hot gain.

It happens because the Ilive runs a fixed point (24 – I think) bit structure. When you run out of bits it overloads. If you pull down your entire mix it goes away.