Headphones to use in a livemix situation

Forums Forums iLive Forums Archived iLive Discussions Headphones to use in a livemix situation

This topic contains 15 replies, has 12 voices, and was last updated by Profile photo of kentlowt kentlowt 13 years, 1 month ago.

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 16 total)
  • Author
    Profile photo of Nforgiven
    Nforgiven
    Participant

Hi
    Im just getting started in the business of sound engineering and mixing live, so im kind at loss as where to start.
    Figured I’d ask at this forum since i reckon most of you guys (and girls) are professionals.

Im looking for a pair of headphones to use with my R-72 desk, as i just got a lot of live jobs and at the moment only have and old KOSS pair im quite at loss at what to look at.

Any of these any good?

AKG 272 HD
    AKG 271 MKII
    BeyerDynamic DT770 PRO80
    BeyerDynamic DT770 M
    Sennheiser HD280 PRO
    KOSS Pro 4AAA Titanium

Any other suggestions are warmly welcomed!

Trond

Profile photo of RayS
    RayS
    Participant

quote:

Originally posted by Nforgiven

Hi
    Im just getting started in the business of sound engineering and mixing live, so im kind at loss as where to start.
    Figured I’d ask at this forum since i reckon most of you guys (and girls) are professionals.

Im looking for a pair of headphones to use with my R-72 desk, as i just got a lot of live jobs and at the moment only have and old KOSS pair im quite at loss at what to look at.

Any of these any good?

AKG 272 HD
    AKG 271 MKII
    BeyerDynamic DT770 PRO80
    BeyerDynamic DT770 M
    Sennheiser HD280 PRO
    KOSS Pro 4AAA Titanium

Any other suggestions are warmly welcomed!

Trond

HI, I own both the beyers and the akg……I love the sound of the beyers and in noisy /loud environments they are great but, for everyday I would prefer the akg,s …..very good all around.either way you can’t go wrong with these two (sennheisers should also be a good choice)

RayS

R-72/iDR32/iPS10