Advice

This topic contains 11 replies, has 7 voices, and was last updated by Profile photo of CareyD CareyD 14 years, 3 months ago.

Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author
    Profile photo of Joe90
    Joe90
    Participant

Hello,

It’s my first post here, just thought I’d say what a nice forum you have…

I’ve been playing in various bands for a few years now and in everyone been the person who organises the PA and also do some Engineering for other bands. I’m thinking about setting up my own PA (man with a van type of) business and I’m considering the iDR-32 being controlled by a PC for the console.

My experience has only been with analogue desks but I feel digital is the future and for the cost of a reasonable analogue desk with sufficient outboard equipment and multicore stage loom will not be much difference in price to the setup above…

Anyway, I would be interested to know if any users are mixing this way and their experiences or any pitfalls to watch out for?

I’ve have downloaded the Editor software and it seems quite user friendly to use but obviously its hard to evaluate without the complete system. Does anyone do demo’s or know of a company that does demo’s of the iLive system? I live in Hampshire UK.

Cheers,

Gary.

Profile photo of Mr-B
    Mr-B
    Participant

Have a look at the list of sound companies that have iLive’s on the iLive web site. There should be one near you I am pretty sure they will help out.
    Me I still like a surface attached to the mix rack, can’t quite survive with a laptop.

Profile photo of grahamwhite
    grahamwhite
    Participant

dont do it!

You need a surface to be able to throw faders up in a hurry and to create mixes on the fly you cannot do this on a computer.

Once you have a show up and running i would be ok moving over to running the show on laptop provided there were no huge changes.

When you have to set things up in a hurry you will take 5times longer doing it via a laptop.