“Ghosts”

This topic contains 2 replies, has 2 voices, and was last updated by Profile photo of jorr1013 jorr1013 15 years, 4 months ago.

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author
    Profile photo of jorr1013
    jorr1013
    Participant

Okay here is my disclaimer – although I’ve been running sound for over 30 years, I have just started with a digital mixer, the iLive 144 and have only had it for a couple of weeks. So I guess I’m a “newbie” to this system.

I archived an existing show as a new show name to use as a base for a production. I went through and started adding and deleting to build what I needed. I wound up with a couple of channels that seemed to have “ghosts” in them. Both of them happened to be connected to an input card on the Surface. I could see the input on a strip but neither the fader nor the mute had any affect on the level. I could turn them down through the preamp section. I could even delete the strip and they still came through. No other strip showed any level and even with all of them muted, these two channels still came through. It’s like the physical inputs were going to multiple places, one that I could see and one (or more) that I couldn’t see.

I’m pretty sure that I did something wrong and even went back through the whole process and came up with the same result. Is there any way to see from the physical input where it goes? Does anyone have any idea what I could have screwed up or any other sage advice?

Thanks for your help!

Profile photo of CareyD
    CareyD
    Participant