Using External Effects Unit on QU-32 console

Forums Forums Qu Forums Qu general discussions Using External Effects Unit on QU-32 console

This topic contains 11 replies, has 9 voices, and was last updated by Profile photo of OceanRoad OceanRoad 6 years, 4 months ago.

Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author
    Profile photo of OceanRoad
    OceanRoad
    Participant

Hi guys,
    I’m new to the digital QU-32 desk. I like some of the pre sets for the onboard FX options, however, our vocalist prefers our tried & true “Lexicon MX300” unit.

I guess my question is how can I set the unit up properly on the qu32 desk to route the mx300 effects onto his channel?

Is there a step by step guide for doing this? I’ve read some scant information about this but I’m not sure what settings need adjusting & how the unit should be physically connected to the desk using the TRS / patch cable connections

Thanks for any help…
    GG

Profile photo of MarkPAman
    MarkPAman
    Participant

There’s probably several options, but I’d keep it simple:

I would feed the Lexicon from one of the mix outputs (probably Mix 1) and return it either into either one of the stereo inputs, or two of the channels line ins (probably 31 & 32) in exactly the same way as I would do on an analogue desk. For just one vocal, no need to run two inputs, though you could (e.g. from Mix 9+10) if you want/need the 4 mono sends.

You should be able to run XLR-XLR from the desk for the unit’s inputs (if I remember correctly it has both XLR & TRS on the back) a pair of TRS-TRS from it’s outputs.

Then (making sure the Mix Out is up) send vocalist to the mix out you’ve chosen in the same way as yod’d send to the internal effects, and adjust & rout the returned signal level in exactly the same way as any other source. Just be sure not to send the returned signal in a loop back to the Lexicon again, as that can result in horribleness.

OceanRoad
    Participant

Thanks Mark,