USB recording on PC

Forums Forums Qu Forums Qu general discussions USB recording on PC

Tagged: 

This topic contains 19 replies, has 14 voices, and was last updated by Profile photo of Ryan Ryan 5 years, 4 months ago.

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 20 total)
  • Author
    Profile photo of MartinC
    MartinC
    Participant

Please be gentle with me, I’m completely new to this, self taught on an analogue desk we have just swapped over to a QU32 at my Church. We have a PC running windows 10 and want to record directly onto it to upload sermons to the web. I have connected the rear usb b to the PC and downloaded the driver but don’t know how to send from the desk to the PC. We just want to record the main mix and don’t need multi track and only have the default voice recorder on the PC. Is this even possible?
    It would also be good to use the USB to send audio to the desk, can I configure this to one of the stereo inputs?
    Thanks in advance!
    Martin

Profile photo of JohnK
    JohnK
    Participant

You will need a USB Audio interface for your PC. Lots of different manufacturers sell these products, they connect to the sound console via XLR or TRS/TS, and they connect to your PC via USB. They usually provide 2ch in and 2ch out at a minimum. Look for mfgs like M-Audio, Presonus, Tascam, Motu, Mackie, Behringer, Focusrite

Profile photo of Dick Rees
    Dick Rees
    Participant

Martin…

What recording program do you have on your computer? I use Audacity. You could use the Qu-drive to feed the stereo main mix to your computer. You’ll need to set the computer to recognize the Qu as the “audio device”, then just record.

Good luck.

Profile photo of DoctorG
    DoctorG
    Participant

I agree with Dick. Audacity is what you should try first. There are tutorials on YouTube, or just search Google for Audacity tutorials.