QU16 as Monitor Mixer for GLD112

Forums Forums Qu Forums Qu feature suggestions QU16 as Monitor Mixer for GLD112

This topic contains 11 replies, has 7 voices, and was last updated by Profile photo of Lee7 Lee7 6 years, 5 months ago.

Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author
    Profile photo of JAK
    JAK
    Participant

Hello,
    Total noob here, apologies if this question isn’t new. I am using a GLD112 as our FoH mixer and recently purchased a QU16 for a portable system. My sales rep said that I could also use this board as a monitor mixer with the GLD112. I haven’t had much luck finding any resources explaining how this works. I would greatly appreciate any suggestions.

Thanks

Profile photo of Showtime
    Showtime
    Participant

Only way is analog split.

Due clock issues it isn’t possible to split in the digital world.

Profile photo of Giga
    Giga
    Participant

I thought one could use the AES ports for this very purpose ?

Giga

Profile photo of GCumbee
    GCumbee
    Participant

AES is just 2 channels.

Profile photo of Giga
    Giga
    Participant

Do you care to explain a little bit further GCumbee as aparently I don’t quite understand this then 🙁

Thanks !

Giga

Profile photo of GCumbee
    GCumbee
    Participant

AES as SPDIF is a 2 channel protocol. AES is a balanced format but assignable 2 channel on this console.

Profile photo of JAK
    JAK
    Participant

Thank you, everyone! That is what I feared. I’ve gleaned a lot of information lurking through this site. I really appreciate the wealth of knowledge here!