Qu-24 & blind users

Forums Forums Qu Forums Qu general discussions Qu-24 & blind users

This topic contains 6 replies, has 4 voices, and was last updated by Profile photo of Mort Mort 9 years, 8 months ago.

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    Profile photo of Audiophiler
    Audiophiler
    Participant

Hello everybody, this is my first post in this community.
    I’m a blind classical pianist and audio fan. After years of long and successful operation on analog mixers, I’m looking for a high quality, last generation, compact digital console for my home studio.
    I’m evaluating many options. Allen & Heath Qu-24, Behringer X32, Yamaha 01V96i, Soundcraft Si Expression 2, PreSonus Studiolive 24.4.2AI.
    Behringer is too large (no 24-channels console in their catalogue) and it seems too “digital” in its user interface (menus, submenus, multifunction keys and rotary encoders…..). Yamaha seems not so professional-oriented, and it is not so user-friendly, too. I quickly discarded both.
    All other three devices seem good, maybe Allen & Heath is the best. But…. Well, sometimes going digital is not so easy for a blind user because most consoles are “visual-based”, so main problem in Qu-24 is TOUCH SCREEN!
    Soundcraft has touch screen, too. Compared to A&H, Soundcraft seems a little bit less advanced (less input channels, no Parametric EQ, no direct hard disk recording). Discarded.
    Last option would be PreSonus. Probably it is the most easy-to-use, analog-like, machine in my list. All controls are there, very few menu operation and only for initial setup and not in daily usage, but maybe it has no headphones out (not sure) and it’s more expensive than A&H, and I suspect that A&H is more advanced.
    Finally, my choice will be between Qu-24 and Studiolive 24.4.2AI.
    So, this is my questions:
    1) Any opinion from a general point of view about mentioned mixers?