Wireless access point and PoE

Forums Forums iLive Forums Archived iLive Discussions Wireless access point and PoE

This topic contains 2 replies, has 2 voices, and was last updated by Profile photo of ceejay ceejay 10 years, 6 months ago.

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author
    Profile photo of djspl
    djspl
    Participant

I have been mixing wireless for a few years now. I am certainly not a networking guy, but I have no problem understanding and setting up an Ilive network. Currently I use a Cisco E2500 router and it works perfectly.

I recently purchased an Oring IAP W510 Outdoor wireless access point because I wanted something more powerful and rugged for bigger outdoor shows. I am also looking for something “powered over ethernet”, PoE, so that I have a cleaner quicker setup.

I basically copied the settings of my working routers to the Oring WAP. My laptops connect to the Oring network with NO problems. However, when I attempt to connect to the mixrack I get a message “cannot connect to mixrack at IP address 192.168.1.1”.

At that point I power everything down, swap in my trusty Cisco router and everything works perfect. I have checked IP addreses, gateway, subnets, everything.

The only difference between the working Cisco router and the Oring WAP is the fact that the network connection comes out of the mixrack and plugs into a PoE injector and then into the Oring WAP (Cisco router uses a “wall wart” DC power supply).

It seems the mixrack is seen on the Oring network, as the mixrack’s IP address is listed in the error message.

i am not using a surface. the network is simple… tablet, WAP and mixrack. Everything has compatible IPs because the Cisco router is setup the same as the Oring WAP (no, I do not have both Cisco and Oring units power up at the same time)

Has anyone else had trouble with their Ilive network and PoE powered networking equipment?

Thanks for sharing any thoughts,
    Eric

Profile photo of djspl
    djspl